Opened 10 years ago

Closed 10 years ago

#3361 closed bug (fixed)

[InstallCD] Opening DriveSetup changes target partition

Reported by: Adek336 Owned by: korli
Priority: normal Milestone: R1
Component: Applications/Installer Version: R1/pre-alpha1
Keywords: Cc:
Blocked By: Blocking:
Has a Patch: no Platform: All

Description

So select a target partition, choose more options, open DriveSetup from the button, close it, now the target partition is not the one you chose but the first from the list. This may be a tragic mistake for someone not cautious!

I understand that after potentially changing the partition layout with DriveSetup the target partition selected list has to repopulate so you can't easily preserve the position on that list. So I guess the first position on the list should be a fake position, something like "Please select a destination".

That would also help with the problem, that after starting up, the Installer has the first availlable partition selected: if you accidentally pressed enter, you'd have it rewritten!

Change History (2)

comment:1 Changed 10 years ago by korli

Is this still valid with the UI changes ?

comment:2 Changed 10 years ago by stippi

Resolution: fixed
Status: newclosed

Yes, the main point of this ticket is that you accidentally install to the wrong partition, but that's not the case anymore. Instead, the Begin button is disabled again and you have to conciously choose your old/new target partition.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.