Opened 10 years ago

Last modified 10 years ago

#3613 new bug

Does not rememeber the selected partitions

Reported by: mmadia Owned by: nobody
Priority: normal Milestone: R1
Component: Applications/Installer Version: R1/pre-alpha1
Keywords: Cc:
Blocked By: Blocking:
Has a Patch: no Platform: All

Description

Usability issue. In short, launching drive setup will cause Installer to forget which partitions the user had selected prior to clicking "Setup Partitions"

To reproduce: Start Installer via Terminal.
Select any partition other than the first one listed.
Click "Setup partitions" to launch DriveSetup.
Exit DriveSetup.
Notice the TargetVisitor::Visit(BPartition *) and similar output.
Notice the Install from has changed from the user's selection to the first listed partition.

Expected results: Upon exiting DriveSetup, Installer should still retain the user's selected partition for "Install to:"

Note: "Onto:" is also lost.

Change History (4)

comment:1 by korli, 10 years ago

The selections are lost for at least good reason: the changes possibly made in DriveSetup could render the selections wrong. I think it's good to have to user double check the selection in this regard.

comment:2 by korli, 10 years ago

Is this bug still valid ?

comment:3 by stippi, 10 years ago

For Onto, it's in the moment intended to lose the selection and revert to "Please Choose Target". For "Install From", Installer could try to remember the partition. So I'd leave the ticket open.

comment:4 by korli, 10 years ago

Owner: changed from korli to nobody
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.