Opened 5 years ago

Closed 2 years ago

Last modified 16 months ago

#10796 closed bug (no change required)

Copying files from read-only USB stick to writeable disk leaves them read-only

Reported by: KapiX Owned by: axeld
Priority: normal Milestone: R1
Component: Applications/Tracker Version: R1/Development
Keywords: Cc:
Blocked By: Blocking: #14029
Has a Patch: no Platform: All

Description

When I mount USB stick as read-only, every file I copy from it to a writeable location still is read-only. When it is mounted in writing mode, everything is fine. Disks doesn't seem to be affected.

Change History (6)

comment:1 Changed 5 years ago by korli

Which filesystem? Which Haiku revision? Thanks! By "disks" you mean CD/DVD?

comment:2 Changed 5 years ago by KapiX

USB stick filesystem = FAT32 hrev47147 Disks = Hard disks, but I need to elaborate further here. The issue here seems to be that Tracker copies files preserving all of their permissions. If the file's owner is root (on BFS volume that's most of the files) if I copy it, I can edit it without further modifications. On ext4 volumes owner in my case is "1000", which means, if the file doesn't have write permission set to others, I need to modify it in order to edit it. What is happening with FAT32 USB stick is, I think, the driver just sets the permissions depending on the mode user selected it to mount (since FAT32 doesn't support them IIRC).

I would expect Tracker to change those permissions for me, because when I'm copying files from read-only volume to a writeable one, I probably want to edit them.

Last edited 5 years ago by KapiX (previous) (diff)

comment:3 Changed 5 years ago by korli

On a copy, I'd expect the target permissions to be the ones from the destination folder and the owner the user doing the operation. On a move, I'd expect permissions and owner to be preserved.

comment:4 Changed 5 years ago by KapiX

This is a matter of preference, I always forget to change these permissions when I open the file for editing, so I get lots of "This file is read-only". Then I have to close the file, open Get info window, change them, and using touchpad it quickly gets annoying. I think there at least should be an option to toggle that behavior.

Please note, that these permissions, at least on FAT32, are artificial, so what's the point of preserving them?

comment:5 Changed 2 years ago by axeld

Resolution: no change required
Status: newclosed

Permissions are and will always be preserved during copy. A read only file system can still report a writable file. So if, for example, ext4 filters out the write bit, it's a problem in the file system, not Tracker.

comment:6 Changed 16 months ago by korli

Blocking: 14029 added
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.