Opened 6 years ago

Closed 6 years ago

#9352 closed enhancement (invalid)

Rename Tracker option "Don't move files to Trash"

Reported by: humdinger Owned by: aldeck
Priority: normal Milestone: R1
Component: Preferences/Tracker Version: R1/Development
Keywords: Cc:
Blocked By: Blocking:
Has a Patch: yes Platform: All

Description

This is hrev45105.

Matt recently pointed out that the Tracker option "Don't move files to Trash" is the only negatively phrased option, and thus may stand out needlessly. Any argument to rename it "Move deleted files to Trash" and activate per default?

I attach a patch that renames every function name etc. and also the Tracker settings file. This kinda breaks BeOS compatibility in this regard, but I wouldn't see that as a big problem.

Opinions?

Attachments (1)

MoveTrash.diff (11.7 KB) - added by humdinger 6 years ago.
diff renaming everything to "Move file to Trash"

Download all attachments as: .zip

Change History (4)

Changed 6 years ago by humdinger

Attachment: MoveTrash.diff added

diff renaming everything to "Move file to Trash"

comment:1 Changed 6 years ago by humdinger

Has a Patch: set

comment:2 Changed 6 years ago by axeld

Personally, I have no problem with negations, and I actually find the current version more clear. I'm not a native speaker, anyway, though. If you want to rephrase it positively, how about "Move files to Trash" or even "Move files to Trash instead of deleting them", maybe just "Use the Trash". The point is, the files aren't deleted yet.

comment:3 Changed 6 years ago by humdinger

Resolution: invalid
Status: newclosed

With hrev45265 all Trash options were removed from the Tracker prefs.

Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.